Statement of Service | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Accessibility | Feedback

Change Text Size small · medium · largeChange Colours black_white yellow_black orange_black black_yellow

Equality North East

Gender reassignment discrimination update

In the UK, section 7 of the Equality Act 2010 protects anyone who is transgender or planning to undergo gender reassignment. The World Health Organization recognises gender dysphoria or gender identity disorder as a psychiatric disorder.

Accordingly, transexualism is defined as: ‘A desire to live and be accepted as a member of the opposite sex, usually accompanied by a sense of discomfort with, or inappropriateness of, one’s anatomic sex and a wish to have surgery and hormonal treatment to make one’s body as congruent as possible with one’s preferred sex.’

For legal purposes, this is called gender reassignment and the law has identified and accepted four main stages of gender reassignment:

1. Psychiatric assessment
2. Hormonal treatment
3. A period of living as a member of the opposite sex, known as the ‘real-life test’
4. Gender reassignment surgery where this is suitable

Full story....

Related Links

November 13, 2017

« back

Equality North East is not responsible for the content of external websites.